The former chapel of the Jesuit college is distinctly Baroque and is the work of Jean Giral, who completed its construction in 1707 in the classical style that he also adopted for various other buildings in Montpellier.
Only one minute walk from Musée Fabre, Basilique Notre-Dame-des-Tables is hidden among the alleyways where there are lots of interesting restaurants.
Notre-Dame des Tables was nominated a “minor basilica” by Pope Pius XII on October 11, 1939. The former college then became a high school, before it's buildings were fitted out and enlarged to accommodate the extension of the neighbouring Musée Fabre.
Add in what’s special to see inside : Recent major renovations and enlargements have enabled us to discover a rich collection of interesting works:
-Marble altarpiece and high altar by Auguste Baussan (1853)
-The choir organ is by Théodore Puget (1893) with 2 keyboards, a pedalboard and 9 pipes
-The painting L'Assomption by Jean-Charles Nicaise Perrin2 (1804, historical monument since 19113) is framed on the right by the statue of Saint Roch, child of Montpellier; on the left by that of Saint Firmin, bishop of Uzès, co-patron of Montpellier.
Notre-Dame des Tables was named so, after the tables used by the nearby money changers or from those on which the merchants displayed their products!