Home to Charles Wesley, hymn writer and co-founder of Methodism, between 1756 and 1771, the house has been restored to its 18th century appearance.
The house was the last home in Bristol of Charles and Sarah Wesley and their three children, Charles, Sarah and Samuel. The family moved to London in 1771. The house is known as the Charles Wesley House and Heritage Centre. As well as giving visitors an idea of what an 18th century family home might have looked like, there are also plans to display the New Room Hymnody project around the house, as the 'father of English hymnody', Charles Wesley, lived here.
Charles Wesley House is furnished exactly as it was when the family lived there. Visitors can see the drawing room, music room, bedroom, study, kitchen and garden. He lived at 4 Charles Street, with his wife and three children, from 1749 to 1771.