Clifton Observatory is a former mill, now used as an observatory. The building was originally a corn windmill in 1766 and was later converted into a tobacco mill, known as the "Snuff Mill".
The observatory houses one of the only remaining dark cameras open to the public in the UK. Originally built as a corn windmill in 1766, the mill was later bought by William West in 1828, who converted the building into his own art studio and installed the camera obscura, which is still in operation today. The camera provides a panoramic view of the surrounding area, including Clifton Suspension Bridge, the Avon Gorge and Clifton Downs.
During his time at the observatory, West also excavated an underground passage to the Giants' Cave, which was originally only accessible via the cliff. After a short descent into the cave, visitors can enjoy spectacular views of the Avon Gorge and Clifton Suspension Bridge.
You can also enjoy the 360 glass cafe at Clifton Observatory, which offers great views of Bristol city and Clifton Suspension Bridge.